MINUTES

Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council (LSOHC) October 6, 2022

Hybrid Meeting - State Capitol 120/ Zoom, pursuant to MS 13D

Call to Order: Chair David Hartwell called the meeting to order at 8:00am.

Members Present

Members Absent

David Hartwell (Chair)
Ron Schara (Vice Chair)
Sen. D. Scott Dibble
Rep. Rob Ecklund
Dudley Edmondson
Kristin Eggerling
Rep. Josh Heintzeman
Mark Holsten
Sen. Andrew Lang
Ashley Peters
Tom Saxhaug
Jamie Swenson

A quorum was present.

- 1. Review and Approve Agenda: Councilmember Tom Saxhaug made a motion to approve the agendaMotion Prevailed
- **2. Review and Approve Minutes:** Sen. D. Scott Dibble made a motion to approve the minutes from September 12, 2022 and September 13, 2022 **Motion Prevailed**
- **3. Conflicts of Interest Reported:** No new conflicts of interest were reported by Councilmembers. Previous reports of conflicts still stand.
- **4. Chair's Comments:** Chair Hartwell noted that later in the meeting the Council would be discussing allocation selections.
- **5. Executive Director's Report:** Executive Director Mark Johnson gave the Council information on a proposed non-controversial land exchange in Washington County. Mr. Johnson, Councilmember Mark Holsten, and Councilmember Saxhaug provided the Council with an overview of the recent northern forest tour attended by several councilmembers and staff. Additionally, Mr. Johnson called attention to first draft of 2023 Council calendar and noted that the calendar will be approved at the next Council meeting. Members were asked to review the calendar draft and let staff know if they have any conflicts.
- **6. Presentation: Minnesota Invasive Carp Update:** Dr. Peter Sorenson with the University of Minnesota provided information for the Council on the history of invasive carp in Minnesota, and possible solutions. Dr. Grace Loppnow, Invasive Fish Coordinator with MN DNR and Heidi Wolf, Invasive Species Supervisor with MN DNR provided additional information for the Council on current DNR invasive carp management practices. Council discussion followed.

- **7. Presentation: Mississippi Northwoods Recreation Trail Update:** Randy Harrison and Bryan Pike with Cuyuna Lakes State Trail Association provided information for the Council on a proposed extension of the Cuyuna Lakes State Trail through the former OHF Mississippi Northwoods property acquisition and asked for Council permission to continue exploring the conceptual trail route through the Mississippi Northwoods property. Council discussion followed. Gary Drotts provided public comment regarding the proposed trail extension for the Council's consideration. Continued Council discussion followed.
- **8.** Chairs' Recommendation and Allocation Selection: Chair Hartwell and Vice Chair Ron Schara provided an overview of the Chairs' Allocation Recommendation currently before the Council, and noted that they had taken into account both councilmembers' individual scores and information given by proposal presenters at the hearings to create the current recommendation package.

Action: Councilmember Jamie Swenson made a motion to remove the St. Louis County tract currently included in HRE01 (Southeast & Metro Trout Stream Habitat Enhancement, Phase 2) and to remove the boreal wetland restoration portion from HRE09 (DNR St. Louis River Restoration Initiative – Phase 10).

A roll call vote was taken.

AYE:	NAY:	ABSENT:
Hartwell		
Schara		
Sen. Dibble		
Rep. Ecklund		
Edmondson		
Eggerling		
Rep. Heintzeman		
Holsten		
Sen. Lang		
Peters		
Saxhaug		
Swenson		

12 AYES, 0 NAYS, 0 ABSENT – Motion Prevailed

Action: Councilmember Kristin Eggerling made a motion that both WRE01 (Wetland Enhancement in the Big Woods) and WRE04 (Shallow Lake Enhancements in Grant County) be removed from the Chairs' proposal and not be recommended for funding.

Council discussion followed.

Councilmember Eggerling amended her motion to state that WRE01 and WRE04 each be considered separately for removal.

A roll call vote was taken on WRE01 (Wetland Enhancement in the Big Woods).

AYE: NAY: ABSENT: Rep. Ecklund Hartwell Sen. Lang

Eggerling Schara
Saxhaug Sen. Dibble
Edmondson

Rep. Heintzeman

Holsten Peters Swenson

3 AYES, 8 NAYS, 1 ABSENT - Motion Does Not Prevail

A roll call vote was taken on WRE04 (Shallow Lake Enhancements in Grant County).

AYE: NAY: ABSENT: Hartwell Rep. Heintzeman Sen. Lang

Schara
Sen. Dibble
Rep. Ecklund
Edmondson
Eggerling
Holsten
Peters
Saxhaug
Swenson

10 AYES, 1 NAYS, 1 ABSENT - Motion Prevails

Action: Councilmember Saxhaug made a motion that the additional \$944,000 now available due to the removal of WRE04 (Shallow Lake Enhancements in Grant County) from the funding recommendations, be reallocated as follows: 66% to FA02 (Camp Ripley Sentinel Landscape ACUB Protection Program Phase XI) and 34% to FA03 (Protection/Enhancement of Public Land Forest Habitats Through Strategic Acquisition of Private Land Inholdings).

A roll call vote was taken.

AYE: NAY: ABSENT: Hartwell Sen. Lang

Schara Sen. Dibble Rep. Ecklund

Edmondson ABSTAIN: Eggerling Peters

Rep. Heintzeman

Holsten Saxhaug Swenson

10 AYES, 0 NAYS, 1 ABSTAINS, 1 ABSENT – Motion Prevails

Action: Councilmember Mark Holsten made a motion to have the acquisition (either in fee or in easement) of school trust fund lands removed from FA03 (Protection/Enhancement of Public Land Forest Habitats Through Strategic Acquisition of Private Land Inholdings).

A roll call vote was taken.

AYE:	NAY:	ABSENT:
Hartwell	Sen. Dibble	

Schara Rep. Ecklund Edmondson

Eggerling ABSTAIN: Rep. Heintzeman Peters

Holsten Sen. Lang Saxhaug Swenson

10 AYES, 1 NAYS, 1 ABSTAIN, 0 ABSENT - Motion Prevails

Action: Chair Hartwell made a motion that the Council approve the chairs' proposal as now amended.

A roll call vote was taken.

AYE: NAY: ABSENT: Hartwell Swenson

Schara Sen. Dibble Rep. Ecklund Edmondson Eggerling

Rep. Heintzeman

Holsten Sen. Lang Peters Saxhaug

11 AYES, 0 NAYS, 1 ABSENT – Motion Prevails

9. Discussion: OHF Proposal Criteria / Scoring Subcommittee: Executive Director Johnson announced that Councilmembers Edmondson, Eggerling, Hartwell, and Peters had volunteered to serve on the proposal criteria/scoring subcommittee and asked if any other members wished to serve. No other members indicated interest. Chair Harwell reminded the Council that all subcommittee meetings would be public.

10 . Public Comments: Public Comments were addressed earlier in the seven.	meeting during agenda item
The meeting was adjourned at 12:14pm.	
APPROVED:	
David Hartwell, Chair	Date
Kristin Eggerling, Secretary	Date