MINUTES

Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council (LSOHC) September 12, 2022

Hybrid Meeting - State Capitol 120/ Zoom, pursuant to MS 13D

Call to Order: Chair David Hartwell called the meeting to order at 8:20am.

Members Present

Members Absent

NONE

David Hartwell (Chair) Ron Schara (Vice Chair)

Sen. D. Scott Dibble
Rep. Rob Ecklund

Dudley Edmondson Kristin Eggerling

Rep. Josh Heintzeman

Mark Holsten

Sen. Andrew Lang

Ashley Peters

Tom Saxhaug

Jamie Swenson

A quorum was present.

- **1. Chair's Comments:** Chair Hartwell reported that, based on general Council consensus, the Council meeting currently scheduled for December 13, 2022 at 8:30 am, would be moved to December 12, 2022 at noon.
- **2. Review and Approve Minutes:** Rep. Rob Ecklund made a motion to approve the minutes from July 28, 2022 **Motion Prevailed**
- **3. Review and Approve Agenda:** Councilmember Jamie Swenson made a motion to approve the agenda **Motion Prevailed**
- **4. Public Comments:** Chair Hartwell reported that no public comments or testimony requests had been submitted to the Council.
- **5. Conflicts of Interest Reported:** Councilmember Ashley Peters reiterated a previously reported conflict of interest with the ML 2023/FY 2024 Ruffed Grouse Society proposal. Chair Hartwell reiterated a previously reported conflict of interest with the ML 2023/FY 2024 Audubon Society proposal.
- **6.** Hearings for Funding Requests: Members heard the following proposals:

WA01 – 2023 Southeast Wetland Restoration, Land Acquisition, Phase 2: \$1,510,500 Michael McCarty, City of Mankato

WA02 – RIM Wetlands - Restoring the most productive habitat in Minnesota: \$10,000,000 John Voz, MN BWSR Sharon Doucette, MN BWSR

WA03 – Shallow Lake & Wetland Protection & Restoration Program - Phase XII: \$13,980,000 Jon Schneider, Ducks Unlimited

WA04 – Wetland Habitat Protection and Restoration Program - Phase 8: \$7,360,000 Beverly Rinke, Minnesota Land Trust Emilia Kenow, Minnesota Land Trust Sergio Pierluissi, USFWS

WA05 – Accelerating the Waterfowl Production Area Program - Phase XV: \$11,931,000 Eran Sandquist, Pheasants Forever, Inc. Scott Glup, USFWS

WRE01 – Wetland Enhancement in the Big Woods: \$900,000 Craig Hensel, Scott-Le Sueur Waterfowlers Joe Lambrecht, Ceder Lake Township Aaron Weinandt, Field to Flyway Engineering

WRE02 – Living Shallow Lakes & Wetlands Enhancement & Restoration Initiative - Phase IX: \$13,700,000 John Lindstrom, Ducks Unlimited Stacy Salvevold, USFWS Jami Markle, Three Rivers Park District

WRE03 – Voyageurs National Park Wetland Restoration Project, Phase 3: \$1,640,000 Steve Windels, Voyageurs National Park Jerry Warmbold, Voyageurs National Park

WRE04 – Shallow Lake Enhancements in Grant County: \$2,631,000
Tracey Von Bargen, Grant County
Dwight Walvatne, Grant County
Jon Kapon, Bois de Sioux Watershed
Aaron Weinandt, Field to Flyway Engineering

WRE05 – Accelerated Shallow Lakes and Wetland Enhancements Phase 15: \$12,428,000 Ricky Lien, MN DNR Nicole Hansel-Welch, MN DNR

WRE06 – Nelson Slough/JD#19: \$6,192,000 Morteza Maher, Middle-Snake-Tamarac Rivers Watershed District Tony Nordby, Houston Engineering Jason Wollin, MN DNR Nicolas Brown, MN DNR HA01 – Hennepin County Habitat Conservation Program - Phase 3: \$12,276,600 Kristine Maurer, Hennepin County Karen Galles, Hennepin County Kristina Geiger, Minnesota Land Trust

HA02 – Anoka Sand Plain Habitat Conservation - Phase 8: \$8,921,300 Wiley Buck, Great River Greening Steve Karel, Sherburne National Wildlife Refuge Carrie Taylor, Anoka Conservation District Gina Hugo, Sherburne County Parks Clayton Lenk, Minnesota Wild Turkey Federation Lydia Fermanich, Minnesota Land Trust

HA03 – Accelerating Habitat Conservation in Southwest Minnesota - Phase 2: \$6,541,000 Wayne Ostlie, Minnesota Land Trust Chad Kingstrom, Minnesota Land Trust

HA04 – Bone Lake South Wetland Acquisition & Restoration: \$4,475,000 Mike Kinney, Comfort Lake-Forest Lake Watershed District Emily Heinz, Comfort Lake-Forest Lake Watershed District Blayne Eineichner, Comfort Lake-Forest Lake Watershed District Aidan Read, Comfort Lake-Forest Lake Watershed District Jason Naber, Emmons & Olivier Resources

HA05 – Buffalo-Red River Watershed District Stream Habitat Program – Phase 3: \$9,428,000 Erik Jones, Buffalo-Red River Watershed District

HA06 – Southeast Minnesota Protection and Restoration Phase 11: \$8,181,700 David Ruff, The Nature Conservancy Nick Bancks, Trust for Public Land Mark van der Linden, Minnesota Land Trust

HA07 – Protecting Minnesota's Lakes of Outstanding Biological Significance - Phase 2: \$9,225,000 Pat Collins, Minnesota Land Trust Bob Karls, Northern Waters Land Trust Annie Knight, Norther Waters Land Trust

HA08 – Fisheries Habitat Protection on Strategic North Central Minnesota Lakes - Phase IX: \$10,656,000 Annie Knight, Northern Waters Land Trust Terry Tripp, Northern Waters Land Trust Ruud Schoolderman, Northern Waters Land Trust

HA09 – DNR WMA & SNA Acquisition – Phase 15: \$5,888,000 Jeff Tillma, MN DNR Rick Walsh, MN DNR

HA10 – DNR Trout Stream Conservation Easements - Phase 3: \$1,360,000 Rick Walsh, MN DNR
Jeff Tillma, MN DNR

HA11 – Metro Big Rivers Phase 13: \$20,303,900 Deborah Loon, MN Valley Trust Kristina Geiger, Minnesota Land Trust Bob McGillivray, Trust for Public Land Todd Rexine, Great River Greening Alex Roth, Friends of the Mississippi River

HA12 – St. Croix Watershed Habitat Protection and Restoration Phase 4: \$16,153,300 Katie Sickmann, Wild Rivers Conservancy
Bob McGillivray, Trust for Public Land
Wayne Ostlie, Minnesota Land Trust

HA13 – Shell Rock River Watershed Habitat Restoration Program Phase XII: \$4,641,900 Courtney Phillips, Shell Rock River Watershed District

HA14 – Integrating Habitat and Clean Water Phase 2: \$10,000,000 Julie Westerlund, MN BWSR Bill Penning, MN BWSR

HA15 – Cannon River Watershed Habitat Protection and Restoration Program - Phase 12: \$6,519,100 Alan Kraus, Clean River Partners
Nick Bancks, The Trust for Public Land
Dr. Brad Gordon, Great River Greening

CPL – Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program Ph. 15 Statewide and Metro Habitat: \$9,500,000 Kathy Varble, MN DNR David Stein, MN DNR

7. Council Discussion: The Council discussed projects heard throughout the day and other relevant topics.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:05pm.

APPROVED:		
David Hartwell, Chair	Date	
Kristin Eggerling, Secretary	Date	