## **National Blue-Winged Teal Award**

PRESENTED FOR ACTIVITIES THAT RESULT IN SUBSTANTIAL BENEFITS TO WATERFOWL, OTHER WETLAND-ASSOCIATED MIGRATORY BIRD POPULATIONS OR WETLANDS HABITATS.

















## Legacy Amendment

Minnesota voters passed the Clean Water, Land and Legacy Amendment (Legacy Amendment) to the Minnesota Constitution in 2008. The Legacy Amendment funds efforts to protect drinking water resources; protects, enhances, and restores wetlands, prairies, forest, and fish, game, and wildlife habitat; preserves the arts and cultural heritage; supports parks and trails; protects, enhances, and restores lakes, rivers, streams, and groundwater.

The Legacy Amendment increased the state sales tax by three-eighths of one percent beginning on July 1, 2009 and continuing until 2034. The additional sales tax revenue is distributed into four funds as follows: 33 percent to the clean water fund; 33 percent to the outdoor heritage fund; 19.75 percent to the arts and cultural heritage fund; and 14.25 percent to the parks and trails fund.

#### **OUTDOOR HERITAGE FUND**

Thirty-three percent of the sales tax revenue from the Clean Water, Land and Legacy amendment is distributed to the Outdoor Heritage Fund. Those funds "may be spent only to restore, protect, and enhance wetlands, prairies, forest and habitat for fish, game, and wildlife."

### LESSARD—SAMS **OUTDOOR HERITAGE COUNCIL**

The Lessard - Sams Outdoor Heritage Council (LSOHC) was established by the legislature to provide annual recommendations on how the Outdoor Heritage Funds should be used. The council makes recommendations on appropriations of money from the Outdoor Heritage Fund that are consistent with the Constitution and state law and that take into consideration recommendations of the Minnesota Conservation and Preservation Plan that directly relate to the restoration, protection, and enhancement of wetlands, prairies, forests, and habitat for fish, game, and wildlife, and that prevent forest fragmentation, encourage forest consolidation, and expand restored native prairie.

# **National Blue-Winged Teal Award**

PRESENTED FOR ACTIVITIES THAT RESULT IN SUBSTANTIAL BENEFITS TO WATERFOWL, OTHER WETLAND-ASSOCIATED MIGRATORY BIRD **POPULATIONS OR WETLANDS HABITATS.** 













## First 10-years of Funding (2009-2018)

### **Total Acres Completed to Date:**

843,063 acres (136 completed programs)

31,825 acres **Habitat Restored** Habitat Enhanced 506.773 acres Habitat Protected in Fee 53.741 acres Habitat Protected in Easement 250,727 acres

**Breakdown of Completed Acres by Habitat Type:** 

Wetland Habitat 101,007 acres Prairie/Grassland Habitat 387,086 acres Forest Habitat 298,185 acres Mixed Habitat 57,785 acres

Total projected completed acres to be restored, enhanced, and protected with first 10 years of appropriations:

1.2 Million acres

In the first 10 years of Outdoor Heritage Funding (OHF), the Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council (LSOHC) has recommended over 300 programs be funded by the MN Legislature for a total of \$968,836,000. Funding recipients have included: 2 state agencies, 25 non-profits, 9 counties, 3 cities, 13 soil and water/ watershed districts, and 3 other local government bodies. Within the Conservation Partners Legacy Grant Program (CPL), over 650 grants located throughout 81 counties have been awarded.

#### **Learn More:**

Isohc.leg.mn | (651) 284-6430 dnr.state.mn.us/grants/habitat/cpl | (651) 296-6157

### **LSOHC Members & Staff**

#### **CURRENT LSOHC MEMBERS:**

Bob Anderson (Chair) Rep. Jamie Becker - Finn Julie Blackburn (Treasurer) Kristin Eggerling Rep. Dan Fabian

David Hartwell Jane Kingston (Vice Chair)

Sen. Andrew Lang Denny McNamara Ron Schara (Secretary) Jamie Swenson

Sen. David Tomassoni (Legislative Member to Executive Committee)

### **PAST LSOHC MEMBERS:**

Sen. Ellen Anderson Lester Bensch Ryan Bronson Jim Cox Wayne Enger Sen. Lisa Fobbe Rep. Bob Gunther Rep. Rick Hansen Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen Mike Kilgore Rep. Leon Lillie

Darby Nelson Susan Olson Scott Rall

Sen. Tom Saxhaug **Bob Schroeder Barry Tilley** Elizabeth Wilkens

#### **CURRENT STAFF:**

Mark Johnson Joe Pavelko Sandy Smith **Becky Enfield** 

#### **PAST STAFF:**

Bill Becker Heather Koop Amanda Brazee