Lessard-Sams Outdoor Heritage Council

MEMO: Agenda Item #14

DATE: April 28, 2017

SUBJECT: Elections of Council Officers

Background

Elections of the Council officers are held the odd numbered years at the first Council meeting following the appointment of new members by the appointing authorities.

The following is an excerpt from the Council Operating Procedures.

2. Periodic Organization: Officers, Make up of Executive committee, Election of officers (how often), Nominations for officers and executive committee.

Membership Structure:

An executive committee structure will be made up of the following officers with members serving 2-year terms. Chair (1), Vice Chair (1), Secretary (1), Treasurer (1), Legislative Member (1)

Election of Officers:

- a. Nominations for executive committee position by written sign-up by member or nomination by another member. Executive committee positions shall be nominated and elected in the following order: chair (1); vice chair (1); secretary (1); treasurer (1); legislative member (1).
- b. Officer's terms are through the first Monday in January of the odd numbered year or until the date of the next election. Elections are to be held in January of the odd numbered year. The chair, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer serve until a successor has been elected.
- c. Distribution of officers among appointing authorities:
 - 1. The chair will be elected from among the appointees of all appointing authorities (Governor, House and Senate).
 - 2. The vice chair will be elected from among the remaining appointees not appointed by the appointing authority of the chair.
 - 3. The secretary will be elected from among the remaining appointees not appointed by the appointing authorities of the chair and the vice chair.
 - 4. The treasurer will be elected from among all appointees
 - 5. The legislative member will be from either House or the Senate. If prior elections of officers yield an odd number of legislators as officers, then the legislative member's legislative affiliation will balance representation of the legislative bodies.
- d. Nomination and election of officers will be by the entire COUNCIL membership.
- e. A majority vote of the members present for each position is required.
- f. Elections will be by written ballot.

- g. Proxy: Members may vote by proxy for election of Executive Committee members only. If a member wishes to vote by proxy he/she shall provide his/her proxy to the COUNCIL staff and indicate the member he/she wishes to have the signed proxy given to.
- h. Vacancies in council offices will be filled by election within 45 days of receipt by the Council of written notification of vacancy.
- I. In order to allow the use of the proxy vote, participating members of the Council must be in the meeting room, not on the phone.
- j. If a member is participating via phone, the elections will take place via a roll call vote and proxies will not be allowed.

Mason's Manual of Legislative Procedure states:

"Sec. 553. Majority Vote Required for Elections

- 1. In the absence of a special rule, a majority vote is necessary to elect officers and a plurality is not sufficient. A vote for the election of officers, when no candidate receives a majority vote, is of no effect, and the situation remains exactly as though no vote has been taken.
- 2. Absent a specific controlling provision, when in an election a quorum is present and a candidate receives a majority of the votes cast, although a majority of the entire body fails to vote, the election is valid.
- 3. When provision for election is made without specifying the proportion of the vote, a majority of a quorum duly convened is sufficient."

Suggested Procedure

Council members entertain nominations of self or others for the position of Chair then proceed to the election processes as outlined above moving onto the next position. Although not an elected position, members may make a motion as to the Conservation Partners Legacy program liaison with the DNR.

Governor Appointments	House Appointments	Senate Appointments
David Hartwell	Denny McNamara	Bob Anderson
Jamie Swenson	Rep. Leon Lillie	Barry Tilley
Jane Kingston	Rep. Dan Fabian	Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen
Julie Blackburn	Ron Schara	Sen. David Tomassoni

Position	Ballot	Governor	House	Senate
	Color			
Chair	Blue			
Vice Chair	Yellow			
Secretary	Salmon			
Treasurer	Green			
Legislative Member	Buff			